Movies

#1 „Kubo and the Two Strings“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

I have watched 69 movies in this year…yet. Which seems a lot to me (especially if you compare it to my statistic for 2016 – though we are not going to talk about that. I’m too embarrased) but I don’t feel like it. So I decided to do „A Thing“. For lack of a better title, I’ll call it „31 Days Of Watching Movies in July“. (#31DowmiJ is an ugly hashtag so I’m just gonna have to write it out. My lazy ass will have to deal with that.)

What’s it about? Easy. I’m going to watch a movie every day, review it and post it. Sometimes with photos. Sometimes not. Sometimes with links. Sometimes not. But always with the movie poster because I’m a sucker for a good aesthetic.

The first movie is one that I have been super duper incredibly excited for: „Kubo and the two strings“- it’s an animated stop-motion movie that was nominated for two Academy Awards and has won the BAFTA Award for Best Animated Film. (If you know me, you know that I love animated movies.)

„A young boy named Kubo must locate a magical suit of armour worn by his late father in order to defeat a vengeful spirit from the past. „

Bildergebnis für kubo and the two strings poster

God, look at that film poster. It’s gorgeous. I love and adore it. Oh, by the way: you can obviously be a part of this marathon, too. If you want to watch the movie I choose. Only if, though. No pressure. (Please tag me if you do.)*

KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS is so well done. The main character one-eyed Kubo – a storyteller (!!) – is a sassy dork. His sidekicks are a badass female monkey, a cursed samurai that looks like a beetle and an origami-mini-version of Kubo’s father. Adorable combination to say the least. They excel in banter and bickering. I don’t want to spoil anything but their dynamic is definitely one of the best things in the movie. (God, I love monkey, too. She is the absolute best. Huge fan.)

The storytelling is exquisite, too. And the scenery. And the monsters. And the villains. Just A+. Everytime I watch an animated movie my love for this genre gets bigger and bigger. They bring together all the things I love about films: imagination, love, an awesome aesthetic and a good message. Most of them, anyway. KUBO AND THE TWO STRINGS is only the second stop-motion film that I’ve ever watched. (My Life as Zucchini being the first one.) (Which was also fabulously heartfelt and lovely.)

This was a good start into my month-long marathon. Very lovely. Made me excited for the future of animation. Sometimes cheesy but still worth the watch. Definitely recommend for kids and other animation lovers. Especially the ending was very sweet.


*If you want to join me, the next movies I’m gonna watch are #2 Rogue One and #3 Princess Mononoke. See you tomorrow. Also, forgive me that this got posted on the 2nd of July. I didn’t make it on time. I’ll try it tomorrow again.

 

 

 

Ein Kommentar zu „#1 „Kubo and the Two Strings“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

  1. I started this a while ago because my husband had it on but we never finished. I was intrigued, just not in the mood for an animation that day. I’ll have to give it another chance 🙂

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

