Movies

#2 „Rogue One: A Star Wars Story“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

And on we go! I watched my #1 film of my marathon (see first post) late late last night so I decided to watch this one in the morning because I couldn’t succeed at my deadline and post it on time yesterday. I’ll make myself tea and cereal and cuddle with my blankets while Rogue One: A Star Wars Story hopefully blows me away.

A little backstory: I watched all of the Star Wars films (except I don’t remember that much about them) including the most recent one The Force Awakens. But I haven’t yet watched this one. Mostly because I wasn’t in the mood but also because it’s long. 133 minutes.

After „Kubo and the two strings“ I need some action and space and badass characters. Hopefully I’ll get that. I want to love it so bad. My expectations are sadly very high. I tried to make them go away but they didn’t listen to me – those losers. Though, the plot sounds incredibly promising.

„A rogue band of resistance fighters unite for a mission to steal the Death Star plans and bring a new hope to the galaxy.“

Ähnliches Foto

I’m not that big of a fan of the film poster; it’s a little to basic for my taste but no hate. All is good and all is well. Let’s start the film. I like to get into the movie with as little information as possible.

AND I THOROUGHLY ENJOYED IT. Although it was (a) incredibly cheesy at times and (b) predictable. Still liked it. Which has more to do with the universe and world that the Star Wars franchise is set in then the actual films. The worldbuilding and characters are the saving grace of those films for me because the plot is more than a little basic.

The first part of ROGUE ONE has to be my favourite of the whole movie and I’m in the minority there. I adored the backstory, the setup and the introductions. It was interesting to see new faces, find out their quirks, what makes them special and how they are going to fit into the storyline. Then the typical stuff happened that is usual for those kind of films – and I kind of lost interest for a second there. I knew what was going to happen and that hindered my immersement in the story.

Nevertheless: I loved the casting of everyone. Felicity Jones. Diego Luna. Mads Mikkelsen (who I adore). Riz Ahmed. And last but not least Forest Whitaker.

I’m the opposite of eloquent today. My head doesn’t know how to form sentences anymore. So I’m just gonna come to the end: I would probably rate this 3/5 or 6/10 depending on the scale. I liked the beginning, the ending, the characters in general but didn’t fully connect to the way the story was told and couldn’t find as much pleasure in watching Rogue One: A Star Wars Story than I wanted to. Something felt missing and at times it felt like I had seen this before. 


If you want to join me, the next movies I’m going to watch are #3 Princess Mononoke, #4 A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night and #5 Pan’s Labyrinth.

 

 

 

 

 

 

4 Kommentare zu „#2 „Rogue One: A Star Wars Story“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

  1. Ah, I’m not a huge fan of this movie >.< I'm probably the only one haha. But EEK. I forgot to set aside time for this marathoning of movies. I have some catching up to do. I probably won't be able to watch all of them, but I'll definitely watch the ones that interest me so we can chat 🙂

    Gefällt 1 Person

  2. In dem Film war ich in der Mitternachtspremiere und war mega-müde 😀 Daher weiß ich nicht mehr so viel über den Film, sollte ich aber dringend noch mal sehen.

    Aber ich habe gelernt: Den neuen Star Wars Film werde ich mir nicht um Mitternacht anschauen 😉

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

