Allgemein

#3 „The Prince Of Egypt“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

I’M BACK! I wasn’t gone that long but it felt like forever. I planned to watch a movie a day in this month but I realized that’s just not going to happen for me so I decided that my plan (31 movies) is still on but not the a-movie/a-day-rule. It’s better that way, guys. Trust me. For me and for you.

I planned to watch Princess Mononoke as the third movie in my watch-athon but I’m not in the right mindset for a 2 hr and 30 minutes long film. BUT: still in the mood for animation. So „The Prince of Egypt“ comes along! (That one was on my list as #7 so I’m just gonna switch those movies.)

This is the extraordinary tale of two brothers named Moses and Ramses, one born of royal blood, and one an orphan with a secret past. Growing up the best of friends, they share a strong bond of free-spirited youth and good-natured rivalry. But the truth will ultimately set them at odds, as one becomes the ruler of the most powerful empire on earth, and the other the chosen leader of his people! Their final confrontation will forever change their lives and the world.“

Wow, that’s one long blurb. But sounds great.

Bildergebnis für the prince of egypt film poster

Good job, poster people. Also,

THE POWER IS REAL

THE STORY IS FOREVER

THE TIME IS NOW

makes me so much more excited for THE PRINCE OF EGYPT. I’m ready, film, come and take my mind to new hights. I’ll make myself some (very much) tea now (because I’m still mentally and physically exhausted from the last few days) and then I’ll start.

OKAY. ALRIGHT. Beautiful but brutal. I liked the familial relationships the most. That made my heart squeeze painfully a few times. The intro sequence was pitch perfect for my taste. After that I lost the momentum for like 10 minutes. Then I found it again.

BEAUTIFUL BUT BRUTAL. The animation was chosen quite well for the whole atmosphere of the film but the actual plot was hard to stomach. Moses‘ journey and his perception of the world around him – the world he lives in – is quite difficult to watch. It reminded me of that quote from Dylan Garrity’s slam poem – „the winner of a rigged game don’t get to write the rules„. Powerful stuff right here.

„a land flowing with milk and honey“

I think I could’ve enjoyed it even more if I didn’t suddenly get dead tired half way through. I can’t seem to catch a break, she writes before she gets thrown completely back into the film.

THE SCENE WHEN MOSES PARTS THE WATER HAS TO BE ONE OF THE MOST BEAUTIFUL ONES THAT I HAVE EVER SEEN AND „WHEN YOU BELIEVE“ HAS TO BE ONE OF THE BEST USED MUSIC IN A SCENE EVER. I’m writing this half-asleep and half-amazed. Although it’s more like 40% asleep and 60% amazed.

I’m kind of very deeply sad right now. Which is not a great ending point before going to bed, let me tell you. But when Prince of Egypt was good, it was very good. 

AND WHITNEY HOUSTON SINGING THE FINAL CREDITS HAS TO BE THE MOST FANTASTIC WAY TO END A MOVIE LIKE THAT. God. Great song choice. 


If you want to join me, the next movies I’m gonna watch are #4 A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night and #5 Pan’s Labyrinth. I’m already half in love with both of them so be warned. Gushing might be coming your way. Sleep well!

 

 

4 Kommentare zu „#3 „The Prince Of Egypt“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

  1. I love this idea of 31 movies. I’ve been trying so hard to catch up and watch different types of movies, as I went a year or so where I watched hardly anything! I did re-watch this recently though and was reminded how much of an AMAZING film it is!!

    Gefällt 1 Person

Kommentar verfassen

