Movies

#4 „A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

FINALLY FRIDAY. I’m stoked and proud of myself for making it through this tough cookie of a week. But let me tell you: I am doneweekend time is on* and I’m going to enjoy that as much as I am able to. (*Although I have to do some adult stuff that I’m not yet ready for on Saturday. But I’ll ignore that one until it slaps me in the face. My usual coping mechanism.) 

The next movie in my #31DOWMIJ is #4 „A Girl Walks Home Alone At Night“ – it’s supposed to be the first black and white „Iranian vampire Western“ which sounds like one hell of a cool movie. I can honestly say that I have never watched a film with a premise like this. 

In the Iranian ghost-town Bad City, a place that reeks of death and loneliness, the townspeople are unaware they are being stalked by a lonesome vampire.“

Amazingly atmospheric movie poster that (I guess) perfectly captures the mood that the movie is going for. I’m intrigued to say the least. And a little bit scared that it’s not going to work well on screen but I’m going in with an open mind. And heart. Let’s see.

Atmospheric indeed. Spooky? Definitely. The perfect Halloween movie. Recommend to watch in October with very little lighting, a few thousand pillows and a comfy blanket. Preferably with hot chocolate. And someone to cuddle with and nod to when some great scenes happen. 

The lead male character Arash has that James Dean vibe going for him and the whole film seems like a different kind of Sin City. Interesting and fascinating to watch. It seems old. Not only because it’s in black and white but also because of the way the scenes are written, the camera shots are done and how the storyline develops. A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT – that’s a hell of a long title – has an old soul at it’s core. Without doubt.

Also, the shots are very nicely done. Aesthetically pleasing. Addictively cool. AND THERE IS A VAMPIRE IN IT. It’s a vampire movie, duh. So there has to be one in it. At least. But: it’s really a vampire! A badass female vampire! 

By the way: it’s not scary per se but it is bloody at times. A little gore. But that comes with the territory of it being a vampire movie and all, I guess. 

What else can I say? Weird, weird, weird. And lovely. One of a kind. I definitely need to watch A GIRL WALKS HOME ALONE AT NIGHT again sometime to immerse myself in the story that was told. It feels like I didn’t fully understand it yet, you know? Like there was more to see, more to love, more to know. It’s a revenge story, a survival story, a life story and sometimes a lovestory.

Bildergebnis


If you want to join me, the next movies I’m going to watch are #5 Pan’s Labyrinth, #6 Before the Flood and #7 Princess Mononoke.

 

 

 

 

 

Kommentar verfassen

