Movies

#5 „Pan’s Labyrinth“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

It wasn’t my smartest decision to do this marathon while being super stressed out. Who would’ve thought that July would be such a glass-half-empty kind of month? NOT ME. I’m exhaused again. So. Much. Stuff. To. Do. And no time, motivation, happiness, will to live — that went a bit far. But it’s hard so I have the right to be 60% sleepless and 40% emotionally and physically tired.

I deserve some peace of mind. We all do. Please, time, stop for a while. Please? So I decided to watch another one from my list today: Pan’s Labyrinth. Guillermo del Toro’s masterpiece and one of my most anticipated movies of all time. It’s two hours long so I better start as soon as possible so I don’t lose the rest of my day.

„Living with her tyrannical stepfather in a new home with her pregnant mother, 10-year-old Ofelia feels alone until she explores a decaying labyrinth guarded by a mysterious faun who claims to know her destiny. If she wishes to return to her real father, Ofelia must complete three terrifying tasks.“

Bildergebnis für pans labyrinth movie poster

It’s an adult fantasy film, by the way. An adult fairy tale. I’m stressing the adult because it’s scary at times – and bloody. I’m watching it in spanish with english subtitles. Makes it even more atmospheric. 

The storyline is easy enough but interesting. The visuals are stunning. I love the whole magic system and the mythical creatures living in the labyrinth. It’s a movie after my own heart in that aspect.

IT’S SO GOOD. The storytelling is superb. That’s a fact. WE NEED MORE FAIRY TALE FILMS. Dark fairy tale films. Guillermo del Toro needs to direct more films in general. Watching Pan’s Labyrinth fuels the fire of wanting to watch Sweeney Todd and Sleepy Hollow. And other magical movies. What are other good magical films? Give them to me, please. I’m desperate for more. I’m liking foreign films more and more.

MERCEDES AND HER BROTHER. Enough said. I love familial relationships being portrayed as a vital part of a story. They. Are. Important. Family is important. Friends are important. I hate how everytime it’s the love interest that’s in danger to bait the protagonist out of hiding. Hate is a strong word. Dislike? Don’t care for that trope anymore? Doesn’t matter. It’s overrated in my opinion.

At last: VERY GOOD FILM. Very good film indeed. Recommend. 


If you want to join, the next movies I’m going to watch are #6 Before The Flood, #7 Princess Mononoke and #8 Perfume: Story of a Murderer.

Kommentar verfassen

