Movies

#7 „Princess Mononoke“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

I’m not in the mood for this 24/7 it seems but maybe that’s going to change once I start #7 of my movie marathon Princess Mononoke. It’s a giant of an animated film with a weird but adorable storyline and (hopefully, fingers crossed) wonderful scenery.

„Ashitaka, a prince of the disappearing Ainu tribe, is cursed by a demonized boar god and must journey to the west to find a cure. Along the way, he encounters San, a young human woman fighting to protect the forest, and Lady Eboshi, who is trying to destroy it. Ashitaka must find a way to bring balance to this conflict.“ (directed by Hayao Miyazaki)

Bildergebnis für princess mononoke movie poster

I take it back. The story is not adorable, it’s brutal. Also, be warned: don’t eat while watching this movie. You might not like it. There is lots and lots of blood, fighting and killing. Hands and heads are getting cut off, demon gods eat and feast on humans – it’s gore in all it’s glory.

It took me awhile to get into it – like I thought – and I never fully embraced and loved this as much as I could have. In typical studio ghibli fashion it’s weird, weird, weird and incredibly long. But it also paints beautiful pictures. The scenery is whimsical, magical and lovely. The color scheme never does prove wrong, it’s very well made and done.

The worldbuilding is the strong suit of the film and definitely – and rightfully so – the back that the whole premise is built on. The characters in comparison were the part of the movie that I didn’t like that much. Exceptions: Lady Eboshi and San. Obviously. Badass females are badass. The rest of the bunch seem pretty one-dimensional. Even to main character, Ashitaka, I couldn’t warm to fully. He seemed stereotypical; hero complex, the one who has to save everyone, strong but a little naive, handsome and on the right path but who makes a few mistakes on the way.

LOVED the relationship between Princess Mononoke aka San and her wolves. VERY LOVELY INDEED. Didn’t like the romance aspect aka „You’re beautiful.“ because #cheesy. It annoyed me a little bit. I adored the little forest gods whose names I forgot – no idea what they are called but they are like mini versions of that Munch painting „The Scream“ and it was 10000% adorable. (Though, that’s the only thing that I would label with that adjective.)

It’s a journey. I say that because it’s (a) true and (b) a nicer way of saying that it’s LONG LONG LONG and that SO MUCH STUFF HAPPENS THROUGHOUT THE MOVIE. Although, note, the timeline is, like, a week? I guess.

I NEED TO SAY IT AGAIN (wait, did I say it before?): the gods are the best. Makes the atmosphere very special and etheral. Spiritual. Pretty. Amazing aesthetic aka pleasing to my eyeballs. They are grateful for that. Thanks, studio ghibli. 

„Can’t humans and the forest live in peace?“


 

 

 

 

Kommentar verfassen

