Movies

#8 „The Secret of Kells“ + #9 „Jonah“ (31 Days Of Watching Movies in July)

I’m changing the films that I wanted to watch for my #31DowmiJ movie marathon because I’m a loser and I really really want to watch this film right now. So I’ll do it. My movie marathon, my rules. But first let me put my pizza in the oven.

SURPRISE IT’S ANOTHER ANIMATION MOVIE. I’m so mad at myself – if I would’ve done the whole „I’ll watch animated movies“ thing in August, I could’ve named the hashtag #AnimationAugust and not that atrocity of a hashtag that I use right now. Forever bitter. Never forget, brain.

„Adventure awaits 12 year old Brendan who must fight Vikings and a serpent god to find a crystal and complete the legendary Book of Kells. In order to finish Brother Aiden’s book, Brendan must overcome his deepest fears on a secret quest that will take him beyond the abbey walls and into the enchanted forest where dangerous mythical creatures hide. Will Brendan succeed in his quest?“

Bildergebnis für the secret of kell movie poster

THAT IS THE CUTEST THING I’VE SEEN SINCE A LONG TIME. That poster, man, it makes my heart feel all fuzzy inside. Adorably fantastic. 

„If there were no books – all knowledge would be lost for eternity.“

THINGS I LIKED:

(1) The animation. Very simplistic but atmospheric. Worked well with the whole premise and development of the film.

(2) The colors. Damn good choice. Aesthetically pleasing. My kind of thing. Bright and heartfelt at times. Broody and dark at other. Especially the last ten-ish minutes were visually stunning. 

(3) Background noise. I put on a face mask and made some tea throughout the movie and still listened to the film and it was perfect background noise for that. Spooky but adorable. 

(4) The Cat and the fairy forest girl. I don’t remember their names but they added cuteness and fluffy friendship to the movie. Also looked ah-ma-zing. (Here have a picture of them.)

(5) The origin of the film. I read that „the film is based on the story of the origin of the Book of Kells, an illuminated manuscript Gospel book in Latin, containing the four Gospels of the New Testament located in Dublin, Ireland. It also draws upon Celtic mythology“ – and that made it even cooler. The celtic touch really came through. 

THINGS I DIDN’T LIKE:

(1) No super connection to the characters. Don’t get me wrong, I adored the characters but they didn’t give me all the feels (if you know what I mean).

(2) The story felt slow at times although it’s only a 1h:18m movie. That happened roughly around the 20 minute mark and continued till minute 30-something.


I’m cheating a bit, I know. But I’m so far behind and my attention span is incredibly low at the moment. So I’m just going to watch a bunch of short films next. Jonah“ is a 20-minute-long short film.

„WHEN TWO YOUNG MEN PHOTOGRAPH A GIGANTIC FISH LEAPING FROM THE SEA, THEIR SMALL TOWN BECOMES A TOURIST ATTRACTION IN THIS STORY ABOUT THE OLD AND THE NEW.“

Bildergebnis für jonah 2013 short film poster

Here have another list and a real one, too.

  • THE SHOTS UNDER WATER WERE PERFECT
  • so cool
  • super duper interesting
  • done incredibly well
  • kind of more than a little poetic (and ironic) ending
  • BUT GOOD!!
  • I watched it here on youtube
  • visually stunning
  • whoa

Now I’m really in the mood to watch more short films. Especially the ones from DUST. And I will. Maybe. Soon. Definitely. You will see. (Or not.)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Kommentar verfassen

